There is a picture I wanted to post today.  I took it on my phone a couple of weeks ago, and it definitely captures the way I am feeling today… About my writing, about this challenge, about my family, about the future.

Alas, my phone is nowhere to be found.  It is somewhere in this apartment.  I sometimes hide it from my toddler son, because I don’t like to fight with him, to constantly nag, telling him “No-no-no.”  Apparently this time I hid it too well.  Ten minutes of solid searching by both myself and my husband (who is, I should add, a remarkably expert searcher) were fruitless.

 

I’ll find it… but it might not be until tomorrow.

 

So for tonight, I’ll try using words to say that my feelings are this:

A stretch of brown earth,
dried weeds scattered.

A shock of green
shoots triumphantly
through the tedium.

A small handful
of delicate
purple petals—
are not closed.

Merely patient,
gladly content,
awaiting nature’s perfect timing.

20130331-140141.jpg


Thank you to Stacey, Ruth, and the wonderful community at Two Writing Teachers who made this year’s March blogging challenge so powerful.  I came very, very close to my “goal” of posting 75% of the days in March (I really ended up closer to 70%).  Most importantly, I wrote, read, discovered, gasped, laughed and even cried a little bit.  I lived much bigger this month because I wrote–and I’m grateful for every minute.

